AMC Studios has announced that they will be releasing their documentary series Hip Hop: The Songs That Shook America on Blu-Ray and DVD on September 29, 2020. The six episode series takes a look at the production and cultural impact of some of the most important songs in hip hop history.

Eneba Many GEOs

Synopsis: Executive produced by Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Tariq “Black Thought” Trotter, Shawn Gee and Alex Gibney and directed by Erik Parker and One9. Each episode of the documentary series focuses on a groundbreaking song pivotal to the evolution of American music and culture. Artists, their collaborators, and other influential musical and cultural figures deconstruct compositions, revisit the impact the song had on them personally, and dissect the socio-economic and cultural conditions that inspired the landmark work and gave voice to a generation. Some of the songs featured in the series include Kanye West’s “Jesus Walks,” Kendrick Lamar’s “Alright,” Run-D.M.C.’s “Rock Box,” Queen Latifah’s “Ladies First,” and more.

%d bloggers like this: