Player of the year awards

Every year, the NFL honors come around, and we find out who the players of the year are. Players are awarded titles for their efforts after the year of football, the night before the Super Bowl. 

As well as these awards there are many other organizations that will present their own awards after each NFL season, the event is massive, and it has a much wider range of awards than any other North American sport. 

Noting the player of the year can help you to place your bets. If a player of the year is going to be in the Super Bowl, it can give you an idea of how they will do and if their team is likely to win. It can also give you a heads-up on the coming year as well. But do not forget, you can also place your NFL player prop bets on whom you think will win these awards too.

With the NFL, you can bet on more than just the games themselves, you can bet on the propositions, such as who will win the player of the year awards. 

Remember that there are more than just one player of the year award, there are many including; the most valuable player, offensive player of the year, defensive player of the year, rookie of the year, comeback player of the year, coach of the year, Pro Bowl, and so on. 

The MVP award, offensive player and defensive player of the year awards are the most sought after, and they are often the ones most noted by fans. So, let’s take a look and see who has won the most of these awards, and if they are current players, think about placing your prop bets now.  

Who won the most MVP awards? 

This award is given by various entities to the player who is considered to be the most valuable in the NFL during the regular season. Organizations that issue an NFL MVP award include the Associated Press (AP) and the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA). The AP award is considered to be the de facto official NFL MVP award. 

So, who has won this the most? Peyton Manning. Peyton Manning has been named AP NFL MVP five times, which is more than any other player in NFL history. Payton played for the Indianapolis Colts from 1998 until 2011, and then the Denver Broncos from 2012 until 2015. He is also a two-time Super Bowl Champion, a Super Bowl MVP, and was awarded AP NFL MVP awards in 2003, 3004, 2008, and 2009 with the Colts and then again in 2013 with the Broncos. 

He is also a two-time NFL Offensive Player of the Year award winner and won NFL Comeback Player of the Year in 2012 when he joined the Broncos. 

Who won the most NFL defensive player of the year awards?

The Defensive Player of the Year award is recognized by various selectors also including the AP, and PFWA. The award is given to the player in a defensive position who is considered to be the most valuable defensive player in that NFL season. 

There are three players that have won this award the most times. Aaron Donald, J.J. Watt, and Lawrence Taylor all won the Defensive Player of the Year award three times. Donald won this third award in the 2020-2021 NFL season. Some would believe that T. J. Watt should have won and not Aaron Donald, but this was not the case and Donald won the award. 

Each of these three DPOY winners has incredible NFL careers and truly earned the awards they won. Lawrence Taylor was, in fact, one of the most feared linebackers in the 80s, while Donald and Watt have dominated their defensive end positions since they were drafted.

Who won the most NFL offensive player of the year awards? 

The NFL Offensive Player of the Year award is given by the AP, PFWA, and Sporting News. It is given to players who are considered to be the top offensive player of the regular NFL season. 

The players who have won the most NFL Offensive Player of the Year awards are Earl Campbell a three-time winner, and Marshall Faulk another three-time winner. Tom Brady and Peyton Manning also have two awards as well. 

Campbell won his awards successively from 1978 until 1980, he played for the Houston Oilers from 1978 until 1984 when he won the awards, and he also won the MVP once in 1979 as well. When he joined the Oilers in ‘78, he immediately made an impact on the league and earned the NFL Rookie of the Year award when he joined. His Offensive Player of the Year awards were all won in his first three seasons! 

%d bloggers like this: